Mer, rhymes with bear (merriehaskell) wrote,
Mer, rhymes with bear

The Meme For Which I Won't Encourage Skipping

(seen at shadowhwk's place)

You know how sometimes people on your friends list post about stuff going on in their life, and all of a sudden you think "Wait a minute? Since when were they working THERE? Since when were they dating HIM/HER? Since when?" And then you wonder how you could have missed all that seemingly pretty standard information, but somehow you feel too ashamed to ask for clarification because it seems like info you should already know? It happens to all of us sometimes.

Please copy the topics below, erase my answers and put yours in their place, and then post it in your journal! Please elaborate on the questions that would benefit from elaboration. One-Word-Answers seldom help anyone out.

NAME: Merrie Fuller

AGE: 34

LOCATION: Saline, MI (living just south of the Ann Arbor border, just west of Ypsi)

OCCUPATION: super busy interlibrary loan supervisor at a top ten academic research library / writer

PARTNER: Dann -- dannimal. I've known him for nearly 16 years, been with him for 13, been married for 6.

KIDS: Dann's daughter K. from his first marriage

BROTHERS/SISTERS: Biologically, three half-siblings from my dad. 7, 14, 23 years younger than me, respectively. Only really knew one of them. So, I went out and obtained my own siblings--there are various adoptive brothers floating around, though the one who seems most willing to own it is my bro, Brandon (helaaspindakaas). I'm very grateful for Dann's brothers and their wives--I'm very blessed with in-laws.

PARENTS: Divorced when I was 3. Dad remarried, and we were estranged completely for reasons I still do not comprehend when I was 18, though the estrangement was a long time coming. He passed away when I was 26, and I went to the funeral, and that was easily the hardest, suckiest day of my life. So much so that I don't possess much personal fear anymore. Mom, on the other hand... we had a hard time when I left home, but having gotten past that hurdle, and today I'm just terrifically proud of her. She's teaching nursing at two different community colleges and getting her masters in Nursing Education simultaneously, and otherwise being a kick-ass role model for not letting age define your life. She lives about three hours away. Dann's parents are closer, and I love them to bits.

PETS: 4 cats: Arthur, Merlin, Mordred and Kali. 2 guinea pigs: Cowlick and Piggie. Some fish that haven't died yet. (I am waiting for them to pass away so as to retire the aquarium.)


1. My agent has sent my book out to editors.
2. I'm finishing another book. (Hopefully this weekend.)
3. Dayjob work has been slammed to nearly beyond the coping point for a year now, and beyond the coping point this whole semester.
4. My stepdaughter has begun dating.
5. Isn't that enough?
Tags: about me: who am i?

  • Ressurecto Livejourno

    Kicking the tires. I think it might be time to come back to the long form. Step 1: think really long and hard about an entry that would be a worthy…

  • Awards... Happen?

    I have read not much this year that was not for an awards jury, and it to me seems like spoiling the pool to say what I liked juuuuust yet. Of the…

  • Writing Year 2013

    Published this year: new fiction: * "Zebulon Vance Sings the Alphabet Songs of Love" in Apex (and also in audio reprint with Escape Pod) *…

  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded